This Blind Faith

"For we walk by faith, not by sight." 2 Corinthians 5:7

SAM IS THE MAN!! August 22, 2014

Filed under: Adoption,Ukraine — Faith Gibson @ 11:52 am

image  By Tony Gibson Jr. from 21 Aug. 2014

I got to experience an awesome treat today. The kids from Sam’s orphanage were able to go to a water park for the first time and I got to go along. My boy’s excitement was contagious. For me, it was getting back in the “daddy saddle’ and I loved it. Turns out that all of my “gyming” hasn’t just been for my pleasure, but it’s going to be for my survival. There were no rules about running at the park, and I had to literally sprint from ride to ride with the tube in tow, and run up all those flights of stairs just to keep up with the kid who was motioning me to pick it up.
The best part was watching Sam interact with EVERYONE. He did an awesome job of balancing time with me and time with friends. He was taking charge with the kids his age in a great way, and was also confidently engaged with the High school group who all seemed to love him. The bitter side of the day was realizing how stifled his personality will be for the next season. With all of the foreign travel that I do, I know how hard is to express your true personality through that language barrier. He will be gaining so much, but he will be giving up plenty too… and have to do a lot of rebuilding. I am so thankful that I got to witness him in full swing today, so that I can anticipate and help him get back to that same place one day soon when everyone will get to know the real Sam.

 

Leave a comment